EDITORIAL

Fritz Scholz

Vladislav Kharton: referee of the Year 2004

Accepted: 8 June 2005 / Published online: 26 November 2005 © Springer-Verlag 2005

Refereeing manuscripts is one of the most important tasks a scientist has to do. Unfortunately, this job is usually made anonymously, and also not honored either by money or public recognition. A German chemist recently proposed, probably not completely seriously, but cum granu salis, that the journals should pay referees and the authors would have to pay for their manuscripts if they are rejected. This could really reduce the number of submissions, increase the quality of published papers, but it is, of course, not a realistic proposal, as long as not all journals were to decide to follow such system. Therefore, we are left with a peer review system that is based completely on the good will and the enthusiasm of those colleagues who understand the ethics of serving as a peer in reviewing manuscripts reporting new findings. Each editor of a journal will quickly have his own experiences with colleagues whom he has asked to referee manuscripts. These experiences will vary from extremely positive to extremely negative. The vast majority of scientists are willing to work for journals as referees, but there are, of course, colleagues with such a high reputation that they are swamped almost daily by review requests. Such colleagues cannot accept all these requests and that is just another proof of the high standard they want to keep! Science is nowadays so diverse that sometimes there are only fewer than 5 to 10 people in the entire world working in the same field. In such cases it is very difficult to find a competent referee. It is the refereeing policy of the Journal of Solid State Electrochemistry to have at least 2 referees, one working in the field of the manuscript topic, and the other referee being more a generalist in electrochemistry. Sometimes, of course, the referees can be both at the same time. I see that it is a great advantage of our refereeing system that the peers are "chosen by hand" and not automatically by a computer system that has stored the fields of expertise of potential referees. It is of utmost importance that the most suitable colleagues are chosen to report on a manuscript. Only in this way will the authors receive the help they need, and only in this way will the editors get the right suggestions to decide on the fate of manuscripts. It is the sincere wish of the Regional Editors, the Guest Editors who have prepared special issues, and of the Editor-in-Chief to thank all the referees who served in 2004 to achieve the high quality of the *Journal of Solid State Electrochemistry* by publication of their names in a list on the next pages. Without you, the journal could not be published. Thank you very much, indeed.

It was the nice idea of George Inzelt, Regional Editor for Europe, to honor each year the referee who has served most frequently and prepared his reports in the shortest time span. One may object that the number of reports depends on the number of requests. This is correct, but be sure that this is the result of a feed-back system. Editors will request more reports from those colleagues who respond quickly. A statistical search revealed that the referee of the year 2004 is Vladislav Kharton from Aveiro, Portugal. Dr. Kharton wrote 14 reports and the average time he took to deliver the reports was 7 days only. His reports are always scientifically sound and very fair. Of course, there are other referees who have written almost as many reports and also in a short time, but Dr. Kharton won the race in 2004. He will receive a certificate and the Publisher has donated a nicely filled purse to purchase books. My sincere thanks and congratulations go to Vladislav, and I also want to add my thanks for his cooperation as a member of the Editorial Board of the journal.

Fritz Scholz Editor-in-Chief

Referees who served the Journal of Solid State Electrochemistry in 2004

L.M. Abrantes S. Adeloju J. Augustynski D. Aurbach S. Badwal I. Bakos A. Baranski V. Barsukov N. Battina D. Becker V. Bertagna G.P. Bierwagen R. Bilewicz S. Biniak F. Björefors J. Bobacka H.J.M. Bouwmeester M.P. Brady J.Q. Chambers O. Chasid

H.J.M. Bouwmeeste M.P. Brady J.Q. Chambers O. Chasid B.V.R. Chowdary A.V. Churikov R.G. Compton J.A. Cox E. Csöregi A. Czerwinski I.T.E. da Fonseca B.B. Damaskin Y. Dobrovolsky M. Donten N. Dukstiene Y. Ein-Eli J. Feliu D. Fiedler H.O. Finklea

J.E. Fischer

S. Fletcher

R. Forster

E. Frazer

J. Garche

S. Głąb

Y. Gofer

M. Grden

M. Galova

J.L. Gautier

M. Forsyth

P. Gründler T. Grygar L. Guo U. Guth A. Hamnett J. He J. Heinze M. Hepel R. Holze G. Horányi A. Hugot le Goff I.A. Hümmelgen G. Inzelt K. Itaya T. Iwasita J. Janek M. Jeffrey P. Joo

K. Jüttner

K. Kahlert

L. Kavan

L. Kibler

P.J. Kinlen

K. Kim

E. Juzeliunas

V.V. Kharton

P. Knauth
M. Köckerling
S. Kole
Š. Komorsky-Lovrić
J. Kong
K. Kordesch
C. Korzniewski
G.A. Koschner
P. Krtil
P.J. Kulesza
W. Kutner
C. Kvarnström
M. Lakatos-Varsányi

M. Lakatos-G.G. Láng W. Langel B. Lengyel M.D. Levi K. Levine Z. Li J. Lipkowski M.M. Lohrengel M. Lovrić H.-J. Lunk D.R. MacFarlane P. Mahon

J. Maier
M. Majda
D. Malevich
M.A. Malik
B.W. Mao
R. Marassi
F. Marken
R. de Marco
B. Markovsky
J. McBreen
S. Migdalski
A. Milchev
V. Mirceski
W. Moritz
S. Moulton

M. Musiani

L. Nadjo H. Näfe G. Nagy A. Nemudry A. Neudeck A. Neufeld R. Newman R. Nichols K.G. Nickel T. Nishikiori M. Novák R. O'Halloran H. Okamoto M. Opallo T. Pajkossi J.-H. Park G. Patermarakis D. Pavlov L. Péter O. Petrii K. Ch. Pillai W. Plieth C. Popescu B.N. Popov

S.-I. Pyun M. Quarton H. Randriamahazaka

J. Reiter U. Retter C.K. Rhee K.S. Ryu D. Sazou M. Schell D.J. Schiffrin W. Schmickler P. Schmuki F. Scholz R. Schrebler U. Schröder B. Scrosati S. Serrano P. Shuk M. Skompska

M. Skyllas-Kazacos J. Sobkowski G. Staikov Z. Stojek N.A. Stolwijk G.V. Subba Rao V. Svetlicic G.M. Swain L. Sziráki M. Takeshi D.E. Tallman R. Taylor J.L. Tirado K. Torkos S. Trasatti T. Takamura J. Tunney

S. Uhlenbruck

S. Yu. Vassiliev

G. Vaivars E. Valles

A.V. Virkar
S. Virtanen
J. Vondrak
M. Vorotyntsev
G. Wallace
T. Wandlowski
C. Wang
J. Wang
R.E. White
S. Whittingham
A. Wieckowski
D. Wilmer
M. Winter
G. Wittstock
Y.P. Wu

H. Wulff J.V. Yakhmi Y. Yang J. Zak

N.F. Zakharchuk J. Zhang S.S. Zhang